Archive for June 15th, 2020

June 15, 2020

Return After Reading

 

0814180930

I am sitting here among the dust, staring up at the widening hole above me. Once there was a ceiling, but that was before my husband thought he could fix the plumbing problem himself. Much to my relief, a plumber – a professional plumber – has been called in and soon all will be right with the world again. Well, at least all will be right with my bathroom and ceiling. I only have so much influence!

This week we were to have discussed the ninth Miss Marple novel A Caribbean Mystery. And, we would have had the online library not removed my book. The day before it was due, I sat down with my tea [because I find you must have tea when reading Miss Marple] and scrolled my iPad to the Cloud Library to finish the last sixteen pages of the book. Much to my surprise, the book had been returned. I immediately went to renew it, but found I had a fourteen day wait.

How horrible to read an entire book, a mystery at that, and have it snatched away just when the murderer was to be revealed! A few friends suggested I just read a summary to discover the culprit. Obviously they are not readers, otherwise they would have known that it’s more than just seeing the outcome, a true reader wants to experience the words, every clever one.

It seems then our discussion will be delayed. In the meantime, please tell me what other books you’re reading. I am in the middle of an interesting one. Truly, Madly, Guilty is the fourth book I’ve read by Liane Moriarty. She definitely knows how to write a page turner. You are drawn in by the first sentence.

“‘This is a story that begins with a barbecue,’ said Clementine.'” How’s that for an opening line? You are immediately drawn in. What barbecue? What happened? And still, as I’m in the middle of chapter 13, I don’t know what happened yet at the barbecue, but I’m anxious to find out. Her chapters alternate between present day and what happened months ago at this event. It’s a very clever way to keep a reader interested.

I hope everyone is staying well, wearing masks and practicing social distancing.

Happy reading!